• Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 275 other subscribers

Six hours later…we have a new signatory list! (Update # 2)

We have been deluged with signatories, and we are so happy!  And that title is not an exaggeration, by the way…I just spent six hours putting this post together!  It’s amazing, the support we’re seeing.

And I want to say that we’ve received emails from more than one trans* person telling us how long they’ve waited for a statement like this to appear, for feminism to welcome them.  Your support matters–it is making a difference already.

So, without further ado, here is the newest list.  I have to admit that I have completely lost count of how many there are, but at a rough estimate, I’d say we got a couple hundred signatures today. [Actual total of new signatures today: 231 additional individuals, 9 additional organizations.  Grand total as of 10 pm EST today: 384 individuals, 17 organizations.  So:  401 signatories!  From 26 countries.]

Some people are famous (Tamora Pierce!  I grew up reading her books!  What a thrill to hear from her!); most of us are not.  Many are academics, many are bloggers, many are activists, some are teachers or librarians or performers.  We can all make the spheres we’re in more welcoming to and supportive of trans* people.  And again, we wish that we could make our parents proud and send each and every person a thank-you card.  But I think that might take at least another six hours, so please just be sure that we are grateful for everybody.  Every single person.

New individual signatures are available here, and organizations here.

Previous Post
Leave a comment

18 Comments

  1. Hi, I’d like to sign, my name’s Siobhan Thomas, I’m a blogger and student adviser at a UK college.

  2. Rebecca Winlo

     /  September 18, 2013

    You can add me (Rebecca Winlo, student), too.

  3. Mackenzie

     /  September 18, 2013

    Add me, Mackenzie Morgan, too

  4. I’d love to sign! Loz Webb, Independent Academic and Activist

  5. Orrin

     /  September 18, 2013

    I would like to sign: Orrin A. Loria, writer

  6. I would also like to sign! Jaime Martino, sensible human being.

  7. jaciem

     /  September 19, 2013

    I’d like to co-sign as well. Please list me as:
    jaciem, trainer and writer

  8. Yes, please!

    Shveta Thakrar, speculative fiction author and independent activist

  9. Reinventing Lucky

     /  September 19, 2013

    I would also like to sign if possible!
    Laughlin “Lucky” Bradley, (accountant, and spouse of a wonderful transitioning husband)

  10. Vin

     /  September 19, 2013

    Please add my signature, too. And thank you.

    Hosanna Lettvin

  11. Add my signature, please!

    Angela Wells (artist and activist, New Zealand)

  12. Tamara Berg

     /  September 19, 2013

    Please add my signature:
    Tamara Berg (Winona State University, Winona, MN)

  13. Please add us to the signatories – “Feminist Magazine” radio / KPFK Pacifica

    (and we look forward to doing that radio interview with the organizers – will be following up to coordinate via email, thank you!)

  14. Seria Mau

     /  September 20, 2013

    I am not a blogger, a writer, or an academic, so I can’t sign this in a professional capacity. But I just wanted to say that I am all in on this, and support this effort 110%!

  15. Siobhan

     /  September 20, 2013

    I would love to cosign if the authors think it is appropriate for a private individual to do so. Either way, I am here to offer my support.

    Siobhan NiLoughlin (Toronto, ON Canada)

  16. Please add me [Cole Jacob Davis] Writer, screenwriter, gender variant person.

  1. A Statement of Trans-Inclusive Feminism and Womanism | feministsfightingtransphobia
  2. Reblog: A Statement of Trans-Inclusive Feminism and Womanism | Dented Blue Mercedes

Leave a comment